Camera Big Leagues

20140717-204946-74986642.jpg

Yesterday my camera came in the mail and I felt like a kid on Christmas! I carefully unwrapped all of the little packages with the lenses and cords and slowly became more and more overwhelmed…..I have always wanted a dslr and really enjoy taking pictures, but this is a whole new ball game! There are so many settings and features and words that I have no idea what they mean…I don’t even know what dslr stands for! (Just so I don’t sound like a complete moron I have consulted the google: I’ve acquired myself a Nikon D5300 Digital Single-Lens Reflex camera!)

I feel like Phoebe on Friends when Ross gets her a bike and she just walks it around because she doesn’t know how to ride it. I pretty much just walked around the house today with my camera around my neck trying to find things to take pictures of.

20140717-210454-75894976.jpg
Lola, our Boston Terrier

20140717-210520-75920250.jpg
Bear, our Rottweiler

We also have a Cocker Spaniel, Sophie, but she wasn’t feeling the photo shoot today.

I don’t want to have this awesome camera and only use the auto mode so I’m trying to learn as much as I can about all the different settings and figure out what the hell I’m doing! I found some really great tutorials on Pinterest and hopefully I’ll be a pro in no time! I found these especially helpful…

Beginner Photography Tips
This site has so many tips and is easy to follow

I’m also a big fan of these:

20140718-203248-73968887.jpg

20140718-203536-74136558.jpg

My poor friends and family will probably tire of being my test subjects, especially the hubs! He came downstairs for a mid sleep snack today (he works nights) and was immediately bombarded paparazzi style. He wasn’t really having it, but I did get a smile out of him when I dropped my towel! (I had just gotten out of the shower and had to interrupt my getting ready for work to show him how awesome my camera was….thought I should clarify I don’t wander in towels all day. However, I greatly dislike having to be dressed at home and if we ever move one of my criteria is that I need to be able to go out the front door without pants and not risk visually offending my neighbors. I also want to have hay, because I find the process of making the hay into bales fascinating!) I should note that I’m easily distracted… Back to my camera….

20140718-120233-43353891.jpg
Happy Hubs

Lucky for you, we get to learn how to take beautiful artsy pictures together!

Like my coffee mug??

20140717-212818-77298019.jpg

And these are my plants!

20140717-212845-77325673.jpg

I’ll probably need to get out of the house if I want to get any better

2 thoughts on “Camera Big Leagues

Leave a Reply

